A (not so new) Shruthi-1 filter board is coming
  • 6 months ago I set myself to rework “from scratch” the SMR-4 circuit.

Some of my motivations:

• Fix some so-so design choices in the SMR-4 that were on the “cargo cult” side (eg: I did the expo converter with NPNs because it was what was used in the material I studied).
    • Simplify the trimming/calibration procedure, source of many support nightmares.
    • Take advantage on some tricks I learned while working with the IR3109 (“sweet resonance”).

Another motivation:

• Get rid of the expensive / hard to find LT1054 ; and go single supply.

This last point took me in many different directions and made me face many unseen problems (power supply noise coupling through the mid-rail, power supply noise coupling through inputs used to offset/null the VCA CV, dependency on Vregs actual voltage, impossibility to use the Shruthi from a 9V battery). In the end, solving all these problems meant more parts (be they additional op-amps, caps, Vrefs) or more expensive parts (better Vregs), which kind of defeated the original plot.

So I’ve decided 2 weeks ago to get back to the good old “battle-tested” LT1054-based split supply. Noise levels are back to that of the current design (= typical of LM13700s). The new design is simpler and only needs V/Oct trimming. The board will have patch points for BP and HP modes (the same way the current board has a 2-pole and 4-pole jumper) ; though it is not planned to add digital control of the routing at the moment.

I’ll have prototypes ready in 10 days, I’d love to get your feedback about it since I’m considering making it the new “default” filter board with the kits.

• nice. I really like your LT1054 design, elegant and simple. I’ve done a lot of +5/-x/+x psus on various projects and the Shruthi approach is the easiest..