IR3109 Board Soldering Order
  • Anyone any tips about the best order to solder components of the IR3109 board? I'm thinking power-supply section first. Would be great to have some ideas of what points on the board to test for voltage, before inserting the ICs. Sorry, newbie here....

a|x
  • Here’s how I do it:

• Start by the 100nF bypass cap. They are the most boring part.
    • Power supply section.
    • Then, bring the meter and check the voltages. I won’t solder a single component on a board whose power supply is not tested. Best way to damage chips!
    • Resistors in the order of the BOM.
    • Ceramic capacitors.
    • IC sockets
    • Then the rest of the capacitors, the “tall” parts and the connectors.

For power supply testing, look at the image of the board (or better, load it in the freeware version of Eagle):

Power traces are the largest one, they are easy to follow. Or you can simply refer to the datasheets of all the ICs!

• Thanks for that, pichenettes.
    I can see the power traces, now. So should the voltage at the power input of each of the ICs be the same? Sorry if this is a naive question....

a|x
  • Each IC has a positive and negative power supply. Voltages should be +5V at all the positive supply pins, – 5V at all the negative supply pins. +/- a few per cents because 78xx and 79xx and not the fanciest regulators out there.

• I see, thanks, that's very helpful :)

a|x
  • Hmm.... something must be wrong. I'm getting 7.68v/-7.68v at the test points. Is this likely to fry my ICs?

a|x
  • It won’t fry the chips, but the circuit won’t work.

7.68 looks like the voltage delivered by your power supply, so it looks like both your regulators are not doing their job. Do they get hot? Maybe you have swapped them?

• Hmm.. it's not quite the PSU voltage. I've just checked that and it's 9.02v with no load.