Has anybody done a firmware build on a windows machine?
  • I want to try some simple hacking, but I'm very new at this stuff. I figure the first step would be to compile the firmware myself and make sure I can get it running before I try messing with any code. Unfortunately, I am currently running WinXP. Has anyone successfully compiled the firmware on a windows machine? If so, what compiler did you use? Thanks.
  • Yes, someone on the v0.92 thread has done it.

• Thanks, I'll look there.
  • I did :-)

Use WinAVR and Python 2.5.
    Make sure the winavr and python directories are in the path variable (google this).
    Check the Firmware page on how to set things up: http://mutable-instruments.net/shruthi1/firmware

Note: you have to enter the directories in the base.mk file with backslashes, like “C:\WinAVR\bin” . However, if the make script returns errors like “file … not found”, try to put a slash at the end, e.g. “ C:\WinAVR\bin/ “. This did it for me with the lastest source code.

• Great! Thanks for the tips. I'll try to do a build this weekend and report back.
  • hello to the community !

i've order on kit of Shruthi and i'm trying to build firmware on windows machine in order to add addon feature on midi out. I'm using WinAVR with GCC compiler and Python.
    I've some trouble with external make files (relative paths, "\" instead of "/" ...). Is it possible to use and edit WinAVR internal makefile without using externals make files ?

thanks,
    Fred
  • Here is my attempt to build a 0.92 firmware in a winXP machine:
    Already had arduino-0022 software with GCC-4.3.2 somewhere in my computer, moved to C:\ (that looks to be necessary).
    Installed WinAVR-20100110 and Python 2.6.6 (msi).
    Downloaded shruthi-1-a4544c0.zip and avril-54d37ea.zip, inside the shruthi-1 there’s an empty avrlib folder where I expanded the avril one.
    Like explained in the firmware page, edited the avrlib/makefile.mk paths: